Courage Valor FDIC International (April 8-13, 2019) - Courage and Valor Award



The Fire Engineering Courage and Valor Foundation was created to ensure that we as Americans “Remember Forever” the fallen firefighters of September 11 and in their memory recognize other firefighters who demonstrate that same courage and valor in rescue missions.

The Ray Downey Courage and Valor Award commemorates the life and career achievements of Deputy Chief Ray Downey, who lost his life while commanding rescue operations at the World Trade Center attack on September 11, 2001. Deputy Chief Downey was chief of rescue operations and a 39-year veteran of the Fire Department of New York. He was the most highly decorated firefighter in the history of FDNY. Deputy Chief Downey commanded rescue operations at many difficult and complex disasters, including the Oklahoma City Bombing, the 1993 World Trade Center Bombing, and many natural disasters worldwide.

For his lifetime of unparalleled service to firefighters and citizens alike, and in remembrance of the courage and valor exemplified many times throughout his life, it is fitting that the Courage and Valor Award, presented to one extraordinarily courageous American firefighter each year, bear the name of Ray Downey, a truly extraordinary man.

Keep the tradition alive — Nominate your candidate for the 2019 Ray Downey Courage and Valor Award now.

For more information visit

Important Details

  • The incident/meritorious act described in this nomination form must have occurred between December 1, 2017 - November 30, 2018, and must have been part of an official fire department response to an emergency incident.
  • The award is open to all firefighters in the United States, regardless of rank or department type.
  • The recipient of the award may be living or deceased.
  • The recipient will receives a cash award of $35,000 and a medal.
  • The award will be presented at the Fire Department Instructors Conference in Indianapolis, April 10, 2019.
  • Nomination forms will be published in Fire Engineering magazine and on its Web site.
  • Incomplete nomination forms will not be considered.
  • Forms must be received by January 7, 2019 for consideration of the 2019 Ray Downey Courage and Valor Award.


3300 First Place Tower
15 East Fifth Street
Tulsa, OK  74103
(P) 918-831-9563
(F) 918-831-9476

In remembrance of Ray Downey and all fallen firefighters, please consider making a tax-deductible contribution to the Fire Engineering Courage and Valor Foundation.

Please send nomination forms to:

Fire Engineering Courage and Valor Foundation
Nomination Committee
Attn: Diane Rothschild
Clarion Fire & Rescue Group
21-00 Route 208 South
Fair Lawn, NJ 07410

Enter Your 2019 Nomination Here!